About CCAD

The Appraisal District’s primary responsibility is to develop an annual appraisal roll for use by taxing units in imposing ad valorem taxes on property in the district. Coryell CAD is governed by the Board of Directors, who is primarily responsible for the hiring of the Chief Appraiser as well as approving the annual budget.


Gatesville Office:
Mitch Fast, *RPA, Chief Appraiser
Rosie Skiles, *RPA, Director of Appraisal
Jessica Smart, Appraiser
Lindsey Witty, Appraiser

Robin Sweazea, *RPA, Director of Appraisal Operations
Brenda Rhudy, Appraisal Technician
Mary Alexopoulos, Appraisal Technician/Exemptions Coordinator


Copperas Cove Office:
John Swart, *RPA, Senior Appraiser
Julie Zobel, Appraiser
Shelly Gibbons, Appraisal Technician

*RPA= Registered Professional Appraiser


Alberto Castillo, Chairman
Justin Carothers, Secretary, Coryell County Tax Assessor/Collector
Jay Manning, Spokesperson
Danny Palmer
Justin Tatum


General Information

Coryell Central Appraisal District is responsible for local property tax appraisal and exemption administration for 18 jurisdictions (taxing units) within Coryell County, Texas. The district appraises property according to the Texas Property Tax Code and the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practices (USPAP).

Each taxing unit, such as the county, a city, school district, municipal utility district, etc., sets its own tax rate to generate revenue to pay for such things as police and fire protection, public schools, road and street maintenance, courts, water and sewer systems, and other public services. Appraisals established by Coryell CAD allocate the year’s tax burden on the basis of each taxable property’s January 1st market value.